Who We Are

The Blueprint for Change staff and governing body is comprised of individuals who have unparalleled knowledge of family safety and service delivery, specifically with regards to the unique challenges that exist in Hawaiʻi.


Executive Director, Shayne Kukunaokalā Yoshimoto has been with BFC since November 2015.  Mr. Yoshimoto has a Master’s degree in Social Work from the University of Hawaiʻi, and over 15 years working with children, youth, and families in Native Hawaiian communities throughout Hawaiʻi.

Program Specialist, Shy Helm has been with BFC since January 2022.  Ms. Helm has a Master’s degree in Education from the University of Hawaiʻi, and extensive experience in working with children, youth and families in Native Hawaiian communities.


Blueprint for Change is governed by an elected Board of Directors.  There are currently 10 Board members.  These members are all outstanding individuals in their respective fields that include business, social services, politics, government service, banking, community service, and public relations.


President – Daphne Kahawai-Tom, Community Advocate

1st Vice President – Susie Chun Oakland

2nd Vice President – Vacant

Treasurer – Stephen Kaaa, Vice President, First Hawaiian Bank – Waikiki Branch

Secretary – Marty Oliphant, Director, Program Integration, Liliʻuokalani Trust


Sharon Simms, C.E.O. of SAS Services LLC

James “Kimo” Kahoano, Hawaiian entertainer and public relations consultant

​Kawika Burgess, President and C.E.O. of Alliance Commercial Finance

Venus Roste-Medeiros, Maui, Molokaʻi & Lānaʻi Regional Director of Kamehameha Schools